Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Closed Thread

Old 24-10-2010, 09:07 PM   #1
dylancox

Default 100/110 over long distances = carnage

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/vic...-1225942519323

I do a fair bit of long distance driving myself and I've always thought 100/110 for hours on end, on our substandard interstate highways is deadly boredom and a disaster waiting to happen. Can we do anything about this? Considering the other 2 incidents that happened just hours earlier were not hoon-related at all, our authorities seriously need to be sacked if "..police would be out in force next weekend cracking down on motorists flouting the law..." is the solution.

Old 24-10-2010, 09:22 PM   #2
CAMS290
trying to get a leg over
Donating Member2

As an ex interstate driver I have seen some shockers over the years.
A lot of the general public will work all day and then try and attempt to drive Adelaide to Melbourne or wherever after they finish work, they are already tired from their day at work and they are inexperienced in driving long distances.

Judging closing distances is A LOT harder at night, some people with their overloaded under powered 4 cylinder cars don't realise how long it takes to get past a B double doing 95kph.

Dual carriageway roads with Armco or wire barriers will go a long way to help avoid situations like the one at Beaufort, but our vast highway network means that it would be economically unviable to duplicate every major highway.
Old 24-10-2010, 09:25 PM   #3
jason71
google is my friend

Unfortunately you don't have to be doing long distance to veer onto wrong side of the road.

I often follow people on the Northern Rd between Penrith and Narellan veering all over the place. They are often the ones doing 10k under the limit thinking they are "safe" drivers.
Old 24-10-2010, 09:26 PM   #4
The Stylist
Automotive Designer

Quote:
Originally Posted by dylancox