Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > General Topics > The Pub

The Pub For General Automotive Related Talk

Old 30-09-2006, 12:39 PM   #1
klawsterfobik
Bad Music and Litre Bikes

Default How to build a project car?

Well after many years of fooling around with ideas for my XY wagon it looks like it may finally be able to come to fruition. The garden shed goes up on Monday to store all the parts in, and after that I should be able to start stripping the car.

Seems this is my first build, I want to keep it relatively simple, just a tidy up couple of little mods, swap the engine, trans and diff, upgrade to disc brakes all around and some simple interior mods.

But my first question is in what order should I do everything? Obviously after it is all stripped the rust repairs will be done first but then what? Do I put the engine, trans, tail shaft and diff in and get all of that working before I start the panel work?

Just so you can have an idea. I’m planning for a fairly mild 460 + C6 combo, leaf sprung disc brake LSD out of an XF-ish wagon, push button auto from a AP5 Val, disc brake front end from a XW/Y.

I’m writing a list of mods at the moment, to try and get an idea of what I’ll need to buy.

So what should be my plan of attack? I would prefer info from people who have rebuilt a car before, and would really like to hear from someone who has put the engine/trans combination in that I'm looking at.

Anyway. Enough reality, back to the topic.
klawsterfobik is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 30-09-2006, 01:10 PM   #2
The G6ET Spot
FF.Com.Au Hardcore