Go Back   Australian Ford Forums > Club and Speciality Forums > Forum Community Car Clubs > AU Falcon.com.au

Old 25-04-2008, 08:18 PM   #1
anarchyok

Default Auto Trans Leaking

Hey guys, a week after dropping some cash to get new front pads, and a left front bearing, the auto trans, which has never given a lick of trouble, has started to leak a small pool of oil. Is my amateur diagnosis of either a loose screw holding the pan on the bottom of the trans housing, or the seal on the money?

What kinda of cost should I expect for a new seal and auto service?? Is it an easy part to fit with a little know-how?

Old 25-04-2008, 08:24 PM   #2
naughtyfalcon
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

wheres the oil coming from ?

front,back or middle ?
Old 25-04-2008, 08:28 PM   #3
anarchyok

Its coming from the front of the pan section which is at rear of the gearbox...does that make sense?
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to transmissions.
Old 25-04-2008, 08:33 PM   #4
naughtyfalcon
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

could be a loose bolt,bugered gasket or seal,best to get it looked at.
Old 26-04-2008, 12:40 AM   #5
5.0 ED
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: has helped a number of AFF members with their cars, particularly with EEC tuning Technical Contributor: For members who share their technical expertise. - Issue reason: Always willing to help out with sound technical advice. 

If its just the sump gasket at which you'd give it a service anyway then it shouldn't be about a bit over $100 i'd think.
5.0 ED is offline   Reply With Quote Multi-Quote with this Post
Old 26-04-2008, 12:47 AM   #6
naughtyfalcon
FF.Com.Au Hardcore

depends if you can do it yourself or not,most transmission services are 120 or more.
Old 26-04-2008, 01:14 AM   #7
anarchyok

no worries, cheers guys. looks like its the seal, so i'll get it serviced asap...might chuck a pic up tomorrow if I get a chance...
Old 26-04-2008, 09:03 AM   #8
Mechan1k
Donating Member1